Green Canyon student receives prestigious community service award; List of Sterling Scholar candidates from CCSD high schools


Alyssa Luthy with the bookAqvautet, The Race     Students with Alyssa Luthy    Alyssa Luthy helps child with art project

Alyssa Luthy from Green Canyon High School is the recipient of the 2022 Gail Miller Community Service Award. This annual award is given to one student in the state of Utah who exemplifies a commitment to serving their community. Luthy, who is a senior, spent three weeks in the small remote village of Igiagig, Alaska teaching art classes to the children within the community. “Art is really awesome and has a bonding power in communities,” Luthy said. “It can really bring people together.” 


Luthy also had the opportunity to help the Igiagig village format and prepare for publication a book titled Aqvautet, The Race. This book, which is written in Yupik, teaches Igiagig children about their lost native Yupik language and reintroduces it back into the culture. Yupik is a native language that has been lost over time but community members are slowly trying to bring it back.


Alyssa Luthy and friend paint a mural on a school wall


Another act of service that Luthy performed was to paint murals for a Montessori school. The school’s new location was industrial and did not have an inviting feeling. After painting the murals, Luthy recognized the power that art had in a space. “It was cool to see the artwork transform the place from such an inviting space to a place where people would want to go,” she explained. 


Along with the award, Luthy will receive a $2,000 scholarship. After graduating from Green Canyon High School, she plans to attend Snow College for a year to finish off her associate's degree before transferring to Utah State University. 


The Gail Miller Community Service Award is given in conjunction with the annual Sterling Scholar awards, which aim to recognize and encourage students to excel in leadership, scholarship, and service. Seniors have the opportunity to showcase their work and academic achievements in a portfolio to be nominated for the region Sterling Scholars in their respective fields. Winners and runners-up for each award will receive scholarship money ranging from $2,500 to $1,000. This event can be viewed at


One high school senior from various schools around the state is selected as the Sterling Scholar winner for each of the 14 categories; Business and Marketing, Computer Technology, Dance, English, Family and Consumer Sciences, Instrumental Music, Mathematics, Science, Skilled and Technical Sciences, Social Science, Speech Theater and Art Forensics, Visual Arts, Vocal Performance, and World Languages. There are 168 students in the Wasatch Region nominated (12 nominations per category) and judges with expertise in these 14 categories review the nominees.

Sterling Scholar Runners-Up:

Evan Anderson is one of the runners-up in the Instrumental category. He plays the piano and trombone. Evan is the current Brass Captain of the Green Canyon Marching Band and had the opportunity to compete in the Bands of America (BOA) Western Regional Championship. 


Emily Morrison was the runner-up in the Social Science Sterling Scholar category. Since her sophomore year, Emily has been competing in Model United Nations and was selected as a head delegate for Mountain Crest, receiving the delegation award. 

CCSD Sterling Scholar Candidates:

Congratulations to all of the Sterling Scholar candidates from our district high schools! 


Green Canyon HS Sterling Scholar candidates

Green Canyon High School Sterling Scholar candidates:
Bailey Watteyne
Evan Anderson (Regional runner-up)
Audrey Bailey (Regional nominee)
Alyssa Luthy (Winner of the 2022 Gail Miller Community Service Award) 
Rachel Weber (Regional nominee)
Sophia Lindsey (Regional nominee)
Mia Huebner
Zac Geertsen
Avery Fadel
Tanner Nash
Lauryn Bell (Regional nominee)
Blake Wilson
Maxwell Rodger
Ella Allsop


Mountain Crest HS Sterling Scholar candidates

Mountain Crest High School Sterling Scholar candidates:
Alyssa Fielding
Emma Ashby
Emily Morrison (Regional runner-up)
Kaylee Poppleton
Elena Shill
Rachel Davis
Jenna McDougal
Marissa Hancock (Regional nominee)
Rebekkah Snow
Kennedy Child
Russell Bundy
Sadie Olsen
Adrianna Saraiva 


Ridgeline HS Sterling Scholar candidates

Ridgeline High School Sterling Scholar candidates:
Indiana Judd
Brennan Robison
Grant Simon
James Thatcher
Kallie Lund
Cassidy Recker (Regional nominee)
Kayt Ward
Keira Wilcox
Claire Anderson
Alex Stahler
Brynlee Kidman
Jessica Evans (Regional runner-up) not shown in picture


Sky View HS Sterling Scholar candidates

Sky View High School Sterling Scholar candidates:
Malyse Rolle
Lauren Bassett
Olivia Kidd
Abigail Smith 
Rome Greenmun
Jacob Lawyer 
Cody Guadarrama
Aspen Moore
Erica Talbot
Sarah Olsen
Rachel McCammon
Emily Ryan