What is the School Community Council?


    • Every school has a School Community Council or a Trust Lands Committee.  Green Canyon elects a School Community Council (SCC) consisting of the principal, teachers, with the majority being parents. The council makes decisions about the School LAND Trust Program. LAND stands for Learning and Nurturing Development. The council prepares a plan that identifies the school's greatest academic need(s). Plans are submitted to and approved by local school boards for implementation the following school year. The Green Canyon SCC receives an annual dividend from the permanent State School Fund every July to implement the school's approved plan during the next school year. Each year Green Canyon receives between $160,000- $180,000 from the School Land Trust Program

      Parents act as the primary advocates for all children and make up the majority of the council. By working as a group and understanding the legal responsibilities that lie with the Principal, parents ensure the representation of various viewpoints and values within the community. Parent engagement is key to student achievement and student progress. A parent will serve as Chair. It is important that parents on the council understand the responsibilities of the council, and are able to collaborate well with the other members of the council to effect meaningful school improvement for all children. 

      Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents and teachers to contribute and help improve academic performance at our school. Councils also act in an advisory capacity to school and school district administration.  Nominations and elections occur in the Fall of each school year.  If you are interested in serving on Green Canyon's Community Council, please contact the principal or council chair.

      Council meetings are open and public; all are invited to attend.  Agendas are posted online one week prior to the meeting and minutes of past meetings are posted on this wesite.


      2020-2021 Members

      Dave Swenson Principal   david.swenson@ccsdut.org
      Randy Bennion Assistant Principal   randy.bennion@ccsdut.org
      Shane Jones Assistant Principal   shane.jones@ccsdut.org
      Cheryl Benson Parent   cher.benson@gmail.com
      Steve Bunnell Parent   stbunnell@gmail.com
      Diana Calderwood Parent Vice Chair  dcalderwood@link101.net
      Annette Cottle Parent   annette.cottle@usu.edu
      Monica Edelmayer Parent   mm4033@gmail.com
      Shelly Halling Parent Secretary halling.shelly62@gmail.com
      Anita Oldham Parent   anita_oldham@hotmail.com
      Shem Smith Parent   swmcsrocks@hotmail.com
      Shannon Walker Parent   shannonwalker1@msn.com
      Rhonda Wright Parent Chair  rhondawrightut@yahoo.com
      Alexis Bird Teacher   alexis.bird@ccsdut.org 
      Christi Carroll Teacher   christi.carroll@ccsdut.org 
      Darren Perkes Parent/Teacher   darren.perkes@gmail.com
      Max Jones Counselor   max.jones@ccsdut.org