What is the School Community Council?

  • Every school has a School Community Council or a Trust Lands Committee.  Sky View elects a School Community Council (SCC) consisting of the principal, teachers, with the majority being parents. The council makes decisions about the School LAND Trust Program. LAND stands for Learning and Nurturing Development. The council prepares a plan that identifies the school's greatest academic need(s). Plans are submitted to and approved by local school boards for implementation the following school year. The Sky View SCC receives an annual dividend from the permanent State School Fund every July to implement the school's approved plan during the next school year. Each year Sky View receives between $160,000- $180,000 from the School Land Trust Program

    Parents act as the primary advocates for all children and make up the majority of the council. By working as a group and understanding the legal responsibilities that lie with the Principal, parents ensure the representation of various viewpoints and values within the community. Parent engagement is key to student achievement and student progress. A parent will serve as Chair. It is important that parents on the council understand the responsibilities of the council, and are able to collaborate well with the other members of the council to effect meaningful school improvement for all children. 

    Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents and teachers to contribute and help improve academic performance at our school. Councils also act in an advisory capacity to school and school district administration.  Nominations and elections occur in the Fall of each school year.  If you are interested in serving on Sky View's Community Council, please contact Kathy Bullen at 435-563-6273 or fill out this FORM and turn into the Sky View Main Office.

    Council meetings are open and public; all are invited to attend.  Agendas are posted online one week prior to the meeting and minutes of past meetings are posted on this wesite.

2020-2021 School Commmunity Council Members

  • School Community Council
    2020-2021 Members

    Mike Monson Principal mike.monson@ccsdut.org 435-563-6273
    Philip Morris Assistant Principal philip.morris@ccsdut.org 435-563-6273
    Brady Fonnesbeck Assistant Principal brady.fonnesbeck@ccsdut.org 435-563-6273
    Blake Tubbs Counselor blake.tubbs@ccsdut.org 435-563-5731
    Kathy Bullen Secretary kathy.bullen@ccsdut.org 435-563-6273
    Ryan Grunig Teacher/Parent ryan.grunig@ccsdut.org 435-563-6273
    Connie Rawlins Teacher connie.rawlins@ccsdut.org 435-563-6278
    John Womack Teacher John.womack@ccsdut.org 435-563-6278
    Bonita Richins Teacher bonita.richins@ccsdut.org 435-563-6273
    Ruth Mudrow Teacher ruth.mudrow@ccsdut.org 435-563-6273
    Shannon Hougaard Parent mrshougaard@gmail.com 435-258-5596
    Toni Gibbons Parent toni.batteryheads.com 435-563-0667
    Mindee Hoopes Parent mindeejhoopes@gmail.com 435-258-5669
    Stefanie Thatcher Parent stefanie.thatcher@gmail.com  
    Sara Nelson Hallock Parent sarad@hallock-law.com  
    Cheryl Peck Parent ergospeck@msn.com 435-258-4545
    Jessica Higginbotham Parent jessbrihigg@yahoo.com 435-752-4321
    Shayne Larsen Parent slarsen@control4.com  
    Sheri Egbert Parent sheri@egbertfam.com  
    Melanie Chambers Parent melchambers98@gmail.com  
    Angela Walker Parent angela.walker@ccsdut.org  
    Paul Schwartz Parent pschwartz4@gmail.com  
    John Louviere Parent john.louviere@usu.edu  
    Summer Gunn Parent summerlynngunn@gmail.com  
    Roger Davies Parent rogerdavies1@gmail.com  
    Niki Godfrey Parent niki_allred@yahoo.com  
    Brian Shupe Parent shupedogg@gmail.com  
    Brooke Granadino Parent amybgranadino@gmail.com  
    Marie Kemp Parent mariewkemp@gmail.com  
    Candace Mullen Parent candace.mullen@yahoo.com