What is the School Community Councl?

  • Every school has a school community council or a trust lands committee.  Greenville Elementary elects a School Community Council (SCC) consisting of the principal, teachers, and a majority of parents. The council makes decisions about the School LAND Trust Program. LAND stands for Learning And Nurturing Development. The council prepares a plan that identifies the school's greatest academic need(s). Plans are submitted to and approved by local school boards for implementation the following school year. The Greenville SCC receives an annual dividend from the permanent State School Fund every July to implement the school's approved plan during the next school year. 

    Parents act as the primary advocates for all children. By working as a group and understanding the legal responsibilities that lie with the principal, parents ensure the representation of various viewpoints and values within the community. Parent engagement is key to student achievement and student progress. Parents make up the majority of a school community council. Parents will serve as chair and vice-chair or in at least one of the co-chair positions. It is important that parents on the council understand the responsibilities of the council, and are able to collaborate well with the other members of the council to effect meaningful school improvement for all children. Please check out the Parent Checklist to be involved.

    Parents are welcome to serve on the School Community Council. Elections are held annually at a time selected by each school. Contact your principal or the chair of your council if you are interested in serving on the council.

    Council meetings are open and public; all are invited to attend. Agendas are posted online one week prior to the meeting and minutes of past meetings are posted on this webpage. To see the agenda for our next meeting or past minutes, click here:

  • Community Council Members 2021-22

    Chairman/Pres-
    Megan Armstrong               meggie.armstrong@gmail.com
    Vice Chair-
    Terra Stanko    750-7888     terra.stanko@ccsdut.org
    Secretary-
    Daniel Greene    750-7888     daniel.greene@ccsdut.org

    Parents-
    Megan Armstrong             meggie.armstrong@gmail.com
    Mariah Checketts              mariah.checketts@ccsdut.org
    Rebecca Ginos                  rebeccaginos@hotmail.com
                   
    Julie Broshinsky                juliebro.az@gmail.com 
    Reconda Meier                  recondameier08@aol.com


    Principal:   750-7888
    Troy Pugmire           troy.pugmire@ccsdut.org
    Teachers:   750-7888 
    Larissa Yahne          larissa.yahne@ccsdut.org
    Daniel Greene         daniel.greene@ccsdut.org
    Terra Stanko           terra.stanko@ccsdut.org