School Community Council

  • Canyon Elementary has a school Community Council made up of parents and school staff that meet the last Tuesday of every month at 8:00 a.m. The School Community Council is an important decision making body that provides for the school climate and standards. This council is also responsible for Utah School Land Trustfunds given to our school each year. Each year Canyon Elementary receives an allocation from the School Land Trust. This amount is determined by the state and based on our student population on a per pupil basis. The allocation for the 2019-2020 school year is $83,209.  This helps us improve all areas of the school from professional development to technology with the common goal of raising student achievement.

     

    Dates & Times for the 2019-2020 Meetings Are:

    October 21, 2019 (A Monday due to scheduling conflicts) 8:00 a.m. in Canyon conference room
    November 26, 2019 8:00 a.m. in Canyon conference room
    December 17, 2019 8:00 a.m. in Canyon conference room
    January 28, 2020 8:00 a.m. in Canyon conference room
    February 25, 2020 8:00 a.m. in Canyon conference room
    March 31, 2020 8:00 a.m. in Canyon conference room
    April 28, 2020 8:00 a.m. in Canyon conference room
    May 26, 2020 8:00 a.m. in Canyon conference room

     
    Parents and community members are always welcome and invited to attend School Community Council Meetings. If you
    have an agenda item to be discussed at the next SCC meeting, please contact a member of the School Community
    Council listed below or come into the office.  If you are interested in joining the Council, elections are held in
    October of each year as needed. Visit the office for more information about how you can be involved.

     

    Canyon Elementary
    School Community Council
    Membership 2019-2020

     

    Council members and their email - 
    Vanessa Borges nessnelson@hotmail.com 435-792-7684 Chair (Parent)  
    Kristen Smith kristen.smith@ccsdut.org 435-792-7684 Vice Chair (School Employee)  
    Stacie Williamson stacie.williamson@ccsdut.org 435-792-7685 Principal / Director  
    Shanda Baldwin shandabaldwin12@gmail.com 435-792-7684 Secretary  
    Elise Haslam elise.haslam@ccsdut.org   School Employee  
    Heather Eames heather.eames@ccsdut.org   School Employee  
    Becky Johansen tbjohansen@yahoo.com   Parent  
    Cassie Flammer jonescass@live.com   Parent  
    Brandy Sutton 4yourspa@gmail.com   Parent  
    Garrin Judd garrintasso@yahoo.com   Parent  
    Marie Elegante marieelegante@gmail.com   Parent