What is the School Community Council?

  • Link to Minutes, Agendas, and Virtual Attendance

    Every school has a school community council or a trust lands committee.  Sunrise Elementary elects a School Community Council (SCC) consisting of the principal, teachers, and a majority of parents. The council makes decisions about the School LAND Trust Program. LAND stands for Learning And Nurturing Development. The council prepares a plan that identifies the school's greatest academic need(s). Plans are submitted to and approved by local school boards for implementation the following school year. The Sunrise SCC receives an annual dividend from the permanent State School Fund every July to implement the school's approved plan during the next school year.  

    Parents act as the primary advocates for all children and make up the majority of the council.  By working as a group and understanding the legal responsibilities that lie with the principal, parents ensure the representation of various viewpoints and values within the community. Parent engagement is key to student achievement and student progress. Parents will serve as chair and vice-chair. It is important that parents on the council understand the responsibilities of the council, and are able to collaborate well with the other members of the council to effect meaningful school improvement for all children.  

    Parents are welcome to serve on the School Community Council. Sunrise has a supportive community council. Each year we need additional parent members to join this council. Contact Shellie Healy (shellie.healy@ccsdut.org) 435-563-3866 if you are interested in serving on the School Community Council.  All meetings are live streamed, so any parent can attend the meeting.  The link can be found on the monthly agenda.

    Council meetings are open and public; all are invited to attend. Agendas are posted online about one week prior to the meeting and minutes of past meetings are posted on this webpage. To see the agenda for our next meeting or past minutes, click here:  

2023-2024 School Community Council Members